## OPERATING RULES FOR ÉPIJOURNAL DE GÉOMÉTRIE ALGÉBRIQUE.

## Title and Goal

The title of the journal is Epijournal de Géométrie Algébrique (shortened to EpiGA). Its objective is to publish, (via the platform Épisciences), research articles in the area of Algebraic Geometry and related fields, such as the geometry of compact Kähler manifolds, algebraic groups, representation theory and arithmetic geometry.

The aim of the Epijournal de Géométrie Algébrique is to publish articles of the highest scientific standards. It is intended that the level of accepted papers should be comparable with those accepted by the Journal of Algebr. Geom. (Foundation Compositio) or Internat. Math. Res. Notices.

The number of articles published per year is to be arranged.

## Organization

The academic staff of the journal is composed of

- the editors (11 in 2019).
- the coordinator: he or she is an editor with special responsabilities who serves a five-year term.
- the monitoring committee which deals with practical matters (for example- the website) and will be the journal's "memory".

## **Operating Rules**

**Peer review process.** — We illustrate the procedure that has been fixed by the monitoring committee by describing the peer review process of a paper submitted to *Épijournal de Géométrie Algébrique*.

- 1. The author submits a paper to the journal *via* the platform Épisciences, which has been previously uploaded to an open archive (arXiv or HAL). The author may also indicate the choice of handling editor. If no handling editor is indicated at submission, the coordinator chooses one (possibly himself).
- 2. The editor may ask for quick opinions on the importance of the paper. He may then choose one or two referees who produce a complete report on the validity and the originality of the paper.
- 3. In case of plagiarism, detected either automatically by arXiv or HAL, or by a referee, the paper is rejected.
- 4. The total duration of the peer review process should not exceed six months.
- 5. The editor takes a decision on the publication of the paper on the basis of the quick opinions and/or reports. He or she may also consult the editorial board by organising a vote.
- 6. If the decision is positive it is forwarded to the editorial board and is suspended for two weeks, during which time any editor may ask for additional information on the paper, in which case a new vote will be organized, or give its opinion on the paper. If, after two weeks, there is no such opinion, the paper is definitively accepted for publication.

On the other hand, if two editors give a negative opinion, the paper is rejected. The coordinator can then handle the paper if the editor in charge of it does not wish to do so. At least two negative expert opinions are uploaded on the platform for reference purposes, where they are visible only to the editors.

If at least one editor (besides the handling editor) has a positive opinion and there is no more than one negative opinion, the paper is accepted.

Finally if there is one negative opinion and no positive opinion, the paper is rejected.

7. In the case of a negative decision, the handling editor does not need to consult the other editors, but should inform them before rejection is notified to the author. **Composition of the editorial board.** — On 2023 January, the editorial board is as follows:

- 1. V. Alexeev, University of Georgia
- 2. J. Ayoub, Zürich University
- 3. M. Brion, IF/CNRS, Grenoble
- 4. P. Brosnan, University of Maryland
- 5. A. Cadoret, IMJ-PRG, Paris
- 6. S. Druel, Lyon/CNRS
- 7. D. Greb, Universität Duisburg-Essen
- 8. X. He, University of Maryland
- 9. S. Payne, University of Texas at Austin
- 10. K. Schwede, University of Utah
- 11. E. Viehmann, TUM, München
- 12. S. Zimmermann, Paris–Saclay

**Renewal of the editorial board.** — Editors are appointed for five years. At the end of this term, the monitoring committee may propose a second (three-year) term to the editor. Editors may not serve more than two consecutive terms. If an editor decides to leave the editorial board before the end of his term, he/she should propose the name of one or more possible replacements. This list will be submitted for approval to the monitoring committee, which will choose the new editor from the list (or possibly elsewhere).

If an editor is guilty of grave malpractice or other inappropriate behaviour he/she can be dismissed by the the monitoring committee after discussion with the coordinator.

**Role of the coordinator.** — The coordinator serves a five-year term. At the end of the term, the coordinator remains in the editorial board, and the monitoring committee chooses a new coordinator.

The coordinator assigns submitted articles when no handling editor is chosen by the authors.

If a member of the editorial board has no activity as an Epiga editor for a long period, the coordinator can decide to temporarily reassign his or her articles to other members of the editorial board. The coordinator liases with the monitoring committee, especially concerning the platform and its use.

She/he ensures that the present operating rules are respected.

Functions of the monitoring committee. — The monitoring committee is the journal's "memory".

In particular, it is responsible for the update of the website (hosted by the platform Épisciences) and for the parametrization of the platform (at least initially).

The monitoring committee nominates the coordinator among the members of the editorial board (this nomination occurs at the creation of the journal and then at every renewal of the function). It approves the appointments of new editors.

Some tasks are shared by all members of the monitoring committee: first contact with the editors, appointment of the coordinator, replacement of editors and, for the first issues of the journal, to appeal to colleagues for possible new submissions.

Some other tasks will be carried out by one or two persons in particular: update of the website, parametrization of the platform and communication.

On 2023 January, the members of the montoring committee are Pierre-Emmanuel Chaput, Benoît Claudon, Lucas Fresse, Damien Mégy, Gianluca Pacienza.

 $\mathbf{4}$